Tywyn Primary School Crowned Champions

Posted by Aberavon RFC on 06/02/2018

Tywyn Primary School have been crowned champions of the Tata Steel Wizards League in 2017/18.

Both rugby and netball finals were played at Llandarcy Academy of Sport between Tywyn, Rhosafan, Briton Ferry and Blaenbaglan.

Tywyn came out on top of the rugby league and also the netball league.

It is the eighth consecutive year that Tywyn netball team have won the Tata Steel Wizards League, an excellent achievement for everyone at the school.

Over the course of the season the rugby and netball games have been officiated by Neath Port Talbot College Sports Students as part of their career development. Helen Jones, Sports Lecturer at the College has been influential in ensuring that the partnership remains strong and important to all.

The Tata Steel Wizards League is a primary school sports competition based in Port Talbot.

21 primary schools are involved in the competition, over 630 participants play in both rugby and netball each year of the Tata Steel Wizards League.

Commercial and Marketing Manager, Chris Davies, added.

"The Tata Steel Wizards League has become a real success in the Port Talbot Primary Schools. The most important element of the league from both Aberavon and Tata Steel's point of view is that children are given the opportunity to engage in sport and participate in regular physical activity." 

Each year 98 games of sport is played during the season, over 960 minutes of sport and physical activity.

"Adding the competition element into the structure of the league is important as learning how to deal with the emotions of winning and losing is an important life skill.

Having the college students officiate that competition element is vital and we are extremely lucky to have the college support in the Wizards League," said Chris Davies.

The Tata Steel Cup and Plate will make a return in the next couple of weeks, so please keep an eye out for fixtures.