Bargoed 16 - 14 Aberavon

Posted by Gareth Gange on 18/02/2018

Bargoed 16 Aberavon 14

The Wizards fell to their fourth successive defeat in the merged Premiership after going down 14 - 16 at Bargoed on Saturday afternoon.

The homeside struck first with two penalties by full back Matthew Lewis in the opening ten minutes to go 6 - 0 up. In the twenty-fifth minute, Aberavon's pack took control close to the Bargoed line with the homeside infringing resulting in referee Dan Jones awarding the Wizards a penalty try to put them ahead by one point. Shortly after, Bargoed missed a penalty but they breached Aberavon's defence in the run up to half time as full back Lewis went over with outside half Calum Jones converting. In injury time, Lewis kicked his third penalty to make the score 16 - 7 to Bargoed at the interval.

Aberavon came out firing in the second half but they missed two penalty kicks. In the forty-eighth minute, some great work by wing Jay Baker resulted in full back Chris Banfield going over for a try that he converted to put the Wizards just two points behind. Aberavon were awarded another penalty a few minutes later close to the Bargoed line, and with the homeside down to thirteen players after the sin-binning of number eight Ieuan Jones and hooker Andrew Leigh Meades, many thought the Wizards would have gone for a scrum. However, a shot at goal was attempted and missed, and the chance of going ahead was also missed. In the last quarter the Wizards were reduced to fourteen players after Lee Purnell was sin-binned, and despite some dangerous runs by the Aberavon backs, Bargoed's defence held firm and held on to win 16 - 14.

Bargoed 16 - 14 Aberavon

Aberavon Team:

Chris Banfield; Jay Baker, Joe Thomas, Will Price, Shaun Pearce; James Garland (capt), David Pritchard (rep Jacob Flynn 61 min); Rowan Jenkins (rep Jordan Walters 74 min), Ieuan Davies, Jon Thomas (rep Rhys Forse 61 min), Ben Thomas, Jacob Blackmore (rep Ben Jones 71 min), Lee Purnell (rep Rob Dudley-Jones 74 min), Luke Joseph, Joe Tomalin-Reeves.

Replacements not used: Liam Popham, Callum Morris, Marc Breeze.
Jay Baker, Joe Thomas, Rowan Jenkins & Jordan Walters appeared from the Ospreys; Jacob Blackmore appeared from Waunarlwydd RFC; Callum Morris apperaed from the Dragons.

Aberavon Scorers:
T - Penalty Try (7 points), Chris Banfield
C - Chris Banfield

Bargoed Scorers:
T - Matthew Lewis
C - Calum Jones
PG - Matthew Lewis (3)

Dan Jones

Man Of The Match:
1 - Chris Banfield
2 - Shaun Pearce
3 - Joe Tomalin-Reeves

Time Line:
04 min: Bargoed - PG - Matthew Lewis (3 - 0)
10 min: Bargoed - PG - Matthew Lewis (6 - 0)
25 min: Aberavon - T - Penalty Try (6 - 7)
37 min: Bargoed - T - Matthew Lewis & C - Calum Jones (13 - 7)
40 min: Bargoed - PG - Matthew Lewis (16 - 7)
40+4 min: Half Time
47 min: Bargoed - Yellow Card - Ieuan Jones
48 min: Aberavon - T - Chris Banfield & C - Chris Banfield (16 - 14)
52 min: Bargoed - Yellow Card - Andrew Leigh Meades
57 min: Bargoed - End Yellow Card - Ieuan Jones
62 min: Aberavon - Yellow Card - Lee Purnell
66 min: Bargoed - End Yellow Card - Andrew Leigh Meades
74 min: Aberavon - End Yellow Card - Lee Purnell
80+1 min: Full Time