Flynn and Magic Mike to play for Wales 7s

Posted by Aberavon RFC on 02/03/2018

Jacob Flynn and Mike 'Magic' Wilson have been selected to play for Wales 7s in the USA leg of the HSBC World Series in Las Vegas.

Aberavon RFC Head Coach, Jason Hyatt, said:

"We are delighted for Jacob & Mike they have both worked exceptionally hard to earn this exciting opportunity.

It was very satifying to hear from Gareth Williams that both Jacob & Mike have made an excellent impression during preparation for the Vegas competition.

Its also a great endorsement for Pricipality Premiership rugby,  we wish Jacob & Mike along with the whole squad the very best of luck."

Everyone at Aberavon RFC wishes the two players the very best of luck.

by Welsh Rugby Union

Aberavon duo Jacob Flynn and Mike Wilson and RGC's Afon Bagshaw are brought into the team for their first taste of World Series rugby, whilst there is a return for Angus O'Brien and Jack Maynard.

The USA leg of the series starts early Saturday morning for UK viewers, when Wales will face their first opponents in Pool B, series leaders South Africa (01:34 GMT). They then take on England (04:13) and Canada (21:48).

Preparation for the tournament has seen Wales participate in training matches with their Irish counterparts at Rodney Parade, with the latter currently seeking qualification for the World Series next season. 

Wales be without the services of the experienced likes of Ethan Davies, Lloyd Evans, Lloyd Lewis, Luke Treharne and Morgan Williams, who remain at home as they return to fitness. 

"We have a large number of injuries that have not been able to recover with the tight turnaround," says head coach Gareth Williams. "This gives us the opportunity to work with and expose a very young group at World Series level.

"It's real exciting getting these boys involved so early in their development, and we'll have a good go at the teams in our group."

Jacob Flynn (Aberavon), Mike Wilson (Aberavon), Harri Millard (Cardiff Blues), Luke Morgan, Owen Jenkins, Afon Bagshaw (RGC), Angus O'Brien (Dragons), Cai Devine (Durham University), Adam Thomas (c), Joe Jenkins, Will Talbot-Davies, Ben Roach, Jack Maynard (Scarlets).